Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

charcoal drawing

Work in progress by Anny Langer

Work in progress… As life is a work in progress…
I’m working on a subject I usually avoid… The task of drawing myself… I can’t avoid it now. I have to do it for a group exhibition in spring. The group decided on the subject, and I can’t let the group down… .
So instead of working with the “After work there is reality” subject I’ve been stuck at the studio with myself, in person, as photos, as sketches and finally as a charcoal drawing slowly coming together on the paper in front of me…
I know why I usually avoid the subject, and I’m still not sure I’ll manage to add something of an artistic value to the drawings I’ll be working on the next couple of weeks. Hopefully that will fall in place like it usually does just I’ve worked for a while…
While I went through a lot photos that I maybe could use, I stumbled about a lot of images I hardly remember. Photos of people I know, family, short meetings and big parties… Strange how little I seem to remember from the last years. I had to look up some of it and was surprised how much time has passed since than. It brought back a lot of memories, good ones and bad ones.
It made me thing about a lot of things going on in my life right now… A lot of them wouldn’t have happened without meeting some of these people… I would be in a different place for sure…
Maybe it sometimes isn’t that bad to take a closer look at yourself…
And if anyone wonders… The photo I’m drawing was taken in 2010 when I just had left a job I had for more than twelves years.

Wish you all a great week.

 

