Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

“Sunset in a heart” digital photo collage
Copyright by Anny Langer

“Because I am a girl.”

Today I went to the opening of the Plan Norway exhibition “Because I am a girl” at Det norske teateret. So it’s a natural thing to choose these words for todays words of wisdom and to add some more words to this. I wished I could write “Because I am a girl I’ve got equal rights regardless where I life”. We aren’t there at all, we ain’t close…
The sentence “Because I am a girl” is a girls reply on the question “Why ain’t you at school?”

Teachers of the Oslo Tribal & Bellydance school dancing at the opening Photo & Copyright by Anny Langer

Teachers of the Oslo Tribal & Bellydance school dancing at the opening
Photo & Copyright by Anny Langer

I support the Plans Girl Campaign 2015 Why? Because!

“Every second, four girls subjected to harassment, violence and abuse at school or pathway. The abusers are fellow students, teachers and men in the community. This Plan will do something and you can help.
For girls who experience abuse and violence, the school day be a nightmare. In most countries there laws to protect girls from abuse. But laws are being broken again and again. Four times a second, more than 300,000 times each day.
One of the consequences is that many girls drop out of school. And without a completed course it is difficult to create a safe future.
Shame and stigma makes girls often do not talk about what they’ve been exposed to. Now we will highlight the abuses to light and open the world’s eyes to the brutal reality. In 24 hours we share more than 300,000 examples of abuse of girls in school – the same number of girls who are subjected to abuse every day.

Say no to violence against girls

Every day, more than 300 000 girls are abused at school. By adopting My Law you say no to violence against girls in school and commit yourself to defend girls’ rights. You also support a call for all countries to enforce laws prohibiting violence in schools. Adopt My Law”

From Plan Norges website

